Select Page
Bryant Middle School

Nominate Your Favorite Teacher – Alberta Muirhead Teacher of the Year

It’s time for students to nominate their favorite Dearborn Public Schools teacher for the 2016 Alberta Muirhead Teacher of the Year Award. The deadline for submitting applications is Thursday, April 7, 2016.

Entry forms can be found by visiting where they can be easily completed and submitted online. Printed nomination forms may be picked up at any Dearborn public school and the district’s Administration Office, 18700 Audette. They can be dropped off or mailed to the Dearborn Area Chamber of Commerce, 22100 Michigan Avenue, Dearborn, MI 48124, or fax to (313) 584-9818. Adults may assist students when necessary but no more than two teachers can be nominated per student.

Students may nominate new or veteran teachers whom they feel have made outstanding contributions to the teaching profession.  Pre-K through second grade students are asked to describe how their teacher makes learning fun. Students in this category can include a nice drawing if they wish but it will not be part of the selection process.  Third through fifth-grade students will need to describe how their teacher has created a classroom where learning is positive and fun.  Middle school students (grades 6-8) are asked to explain how their teacher connects classroom learning with everyday life.  Students in high school must describe how their teacher is preparing them to be successful beyond high school.

“We have so many outstanding teachers in our district who truly deserve this recognition. I encourage all of our students to take a few minutes to nominate their favorite teacher and show them how much they appreciate all the hard work and caring they put into teaching,” commented Dearborn Public Schools Superintendent Glenn Maleyko, Ph.D.

Applications will be assessed on quality of the nomination, not on the number received. Award judges are members of the Dearborn Chamber Education Committee and are not provided with the teachers’ names.

One winner from Pre-K through 2nd grade, 3rd-5th grade, middle, and high school will be announced at a special ceremony at 4:15 p.m., Wednesday, May 11, 2016, at the Ford Community and Performing Arts Center. The Alberta Muirhead Teacher of the Year Award is sponsored by the Dearborn Area Chamber of Commerce.

Teachers selected to receive the Teacher of Year Award are being recognized as positive role models who consistently provide unique, productive, positive classroom experiences. Teachers selected receive a $1,000 cash prize, a glass award commemorating their achievement, and will be part of a select group of Dearborn teachers who have been recognized by the community for their dedication and passion for teaching.

“I want to thank the Chamber of Commerce and all the sponsors for once again hosting this event,” Maleyko added. “Our district is very fortunate to have so many great community partners.”

Teacher nomination sheet 2016 (1) (1)