Select Page
Bryant Middle School

2012 Teacher of the Year Nominations are due!

Nomination forms for the 2011-12 Alberta Muirhead Teacher of the Year Award, sponsored by the Dearborn Chamber of Commerce, are now available on the district website at or the Chamber website, Forms are also available at all Dearborn Public Schools, and the district Administration Office, 18700 Audette.


Students can nominate new or veteran teachers whom they feel have made outstanding contributions to the teaching profession. Preschool through fifth-grade students are asked to describe how their teacher has created a classroom where learning is positive and fun.  Middle school students (grades 6-8) will need to explain how their teacher connects classroom learning with everyday life. Students in high school must describe how their teacher is preparing them to be successful beyond high school. Applications will be assessed on quality of the nomination, not on the number received. Award judges are members of the Dearborn Chamber Education Committee and are not provided with the teachers’ names.


Teachers selected to receive the Teacher of Year Award are being recognized as positive role models who consistently provide unique, productive, positive classroom experiences. Teachers selected receive a $1,000 cash prize, a plaque commemorating their achievement, and will be part of a select group of Dearborn teachers who have been recognized by the community for their dedication and passion for teaching. The awards ceremony is scheduled for May 31 at 4 pm in the Dearborn Community and Performing Arts Center.


Completed forms must be turned in to the Chamber Office by April 27, 2012. Adults may assist students when necessary but no more than two teachers can be nominated per student. Please mail both sides of the nomination form to the Dearborn Chamber of Commerce, 22100 Michigan Avenue, Dearborn, MI  48124, or fax to (313) 584-9818.